Close
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
  1. #46
    Alpha Novaraptor Annabelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Annabelles Nokill/Rp Server with da Raptors
    Posts
    303
    is there anyway to use trees with foliage so you cant walk through them? also my postprocess volume is glitchy. It just wont work

  2. #47
    Predator X Spinoraptyrex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Waiting in my couch until the entire world can accept dinosaurs for how they really were.
    Posts
    849
    Quote Originally Posted by dinosauriac View Post
    Have you followed the instructions here...?
    http://primalcarnage.com/devwiki/ind..._Skin_Creation

    I would hazard a guess that the diffuse overlay parameter isn't ticked on and the overlay is in the base texture slot. Shouldn't be an issue if you created a MIC from an existing skin, but I can't really tell what else could be going wrong without a screenshot of your material setup.
    Well I didn't even know we had a wiki already, guess I'll read that when I get some time.

    I've been able to get the base working if I import my skin in an already existing texture rather than just using the import button and creating a new one. This was probably mentioned in the tutorial I was following but was too derp to figure that out.

  3. #48
    Primal Carnage Team dinosauriac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Merry Old England
    Posts
    762
    Quote Originally Posted by Annabelle View Post
    is there anyway to use trees with foliage so you cant walk through them?
    The foliage tool does not properly support collision, which is why trees / interactive actors need to be hand placed.

  4. #49
    Alpha Novaraptor Annabelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Annabelles Nokill/Rp Server with da Raptors
    Posts
    303
    Quote Originally Posted by dinosauriac View Post
    The foliage tool does not properly support collision, which is why trees / interactive actors need to be hand placed.
    Thanks. Also is there anyway I can find the new human animations? and make guns go into their hands automatically?

    [COLOR="silver"]- - - Updated - - -[/COLOR]

    Anyway I can get fish to swim in pools of water like the brachy walks along on docks? so it plays a animation?

  5. #50
    Alpha Novaraptor Annabelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Annabelles Nokill/Rp Server with da Raptors
    Posts
    303
    Is there anyway to add NPCs that move? e.g the brachy I would like to do that with a compy.

    Question 2: Anyway I can place fences down with a brush or something? same goes for trees. Its so slow placing manually.

  6. #51
    Philosoraptor Toametru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Preparing for cringe.
    Posts
    1,022
    Quote Originally Posted by Annabelle View Post
    Is there anyway to add NPCs that move? e.g the brachy I would like to do that with a compy.

    Question 2: Anyway I can place fences down with a brush or something? same goes for trees. Its so slow placing manually.
    I wouldn't recommend putting the trees in the foliage brush tool, as it would look perhaps too dense and unfitting to the environment you are trying to make. Not to mention too many trees can make it very hard to move, like the Tyrants on forestchasm.

    (FLoFF) Floofie: I fear that person with my life

  7. #52
    Primal Carnage Team dinosauriac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Merry Old England
    Posts
    762
    Quote Originally Posted by Annabelle View Post
    Is there anyway to add NPCs that move? e.g the brachy I would like to do that with a compy.
    We don't really have "NPCs".. the Brachiosaurs are just animated models that move on a track, like the rides at Universal Studios. They go back and forth and sometimes do a specific animation. To do this, you place a skeletal mesh in your map, then with that selected create a movement track in Matinee, setting keyframes on the timeline and moving it to a new location.

    We try not to add these "NPCs" very much because Matinee is not infallible and there's always the potential for the sequence to mess up. Hopefully we might get support for placing actual NPC AI outside of Survival at some point, but knowing that each AI dino in that mode is roughly as expensive as adding another live player to the game, we still probably wouldn't use it extensively.

    Anyway, here's the UE3 matinee user guide if you're up for a little light reading:
    https://udn.epicgames.com/Three/MatineeUserGuide.html

    Quote Originally Posted by Annabelle View Post
    Question 2: Anyway I can place fences down with a brush or something? same goes for trees. Its so slow placing manually.
    Welcome to our world. And as I pointed out, the foliage tool DOES NOT HAVE COLLISION. You would be walking through anything you placed down.

  8. #53
    Alpha Novaraptor Annabelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Annabelles Nokill/Rp Server with da Raptors
    Posts
    303
    Im really bad with kisment. Is there any vid on it? also how do I make it so the AI isnt stupid and actually attacks for survival.

  9. #54
    Alpha Novaraptor Annabelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Annabelles Nokill/Rp Server with da Raptors
    Posts
    303
    I messed up my anim set and now cant see any of the animations. Anyway to reset it? also how do you make sequences eg I wanna make a video/trailer on my map.

  10. #55
    Carnage Primal Developer Apoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ketchikan, Alaska
    Posts
    761
    If any part of the editor UI is messed up, the best thing to do is delete your configs in PrimalCarnageGame/Config.

    As for Kismet and Matinee, we don't have any good tutorials yet but you can check out some YouTube tutorials or check out the UE3 documentation.

    Matinee:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XAdrq5Z5xWI
    https://udn.epicgames.com/Three/Mati...aticsHome.html

    Kismet:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4PXYOaR4kY
    https://udn.epicgames.com/Three/KismetUserGuide.html

  11. #56
    Alpha Novaraptor Annabelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Annabelles Nokill/Rp Server with da Raptors
    Posts
    303
    Quote Originally Posted by Apoc View Post
    If any part of the editor UI is messed up, the best thing to do is delete your configs in PrimalCarnageGame/Config.

    As for Kismet and Matinee, we don't have any good tutorials yet but you can check out some YouTube tutorials or check out the UE3 documentation.

    Matinee:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XAdrq5Z5xWI
    https://udn.epicgames.com/Three/Mati...aticsHome.html

    Kismet:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4PXYOaR4kY
    https://udn.epicgames.com/Three/KismetUserGuide.html
    Thanks. Will map workshop be added this update?

  12. #57
    Alpha Novaraptor Annabelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Annabelles Nokill/Rp Server with da Raptors
    Posts
    303
    How can I get rid of this surface appearing got a screenshot here:
     

    Also cant see the spawn icons. I manged to figure out how to make things move with matinee is there a way to make them play animations? so like you can see a acro run or something

    I get a error when I play my stego in kismet it says it may not show in game and says change the physics. How will I do this????????

    -Update- Fixed

  13. #58
    Alpha Novaraptor Annabelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Annabelles Nokill/Rp Server with da Raptors
    Posts
    303
    How does the fade tool work? put down a track for it and a time for it to fade but doesnt work.

  14. #59

    Level Editor broken with new update from Steam

    I just download an update from Steam to a clean directory and it never comes up. It spawns 7 processes of UDKShaderCompileWorker.exe that consume a lot of CPU bandwidth but no editor. Have repeated three times. Any ideas whats happening?

    UPDATE: It finally came up after a few minutes

  15. #60
    Protoplasm
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    1
    How would one snap, say, falcon feathers or quills on to a Novaraptor model? I want to know so I can pose it correctly, since without the feathers snapped/attached I cannot do that if I don't want floating feathers or no feathers at all.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •